



MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

CBMR-3-RFI-02-MoU.Morocco-v1 24 January 2010

Malaysia and Morocco are now Partners in Cyber Security

Kuala Lumpur, 24 January 2010 – CyberSecurity Malaysia, the national cyber security specialist centre under the purview of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation Malaysia (**MOSTI**) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (**MOU**) with the Department of Post, Telecommunications, and New Technologies, a department in the Ministry of Industry, Trade and New Technology of Morocco.

The MOU was signed on 21 January 2010 in conjunction with the Regional Cybersecurity Conference held at the University Al Akhawayn, Ifrane, Morocco. The MoU was signed by Dr Taieb Debbagh, the Secretary General of the Ministry of Industry, Trade and New Technology of Morocco and General Dato' Seri Panglima Mohd Azumi Bin Mohamed (Retired), the Chairman of the Board for CyberSecurity Malaysia.

Dato' Seri Panglima Mohd Azumi said, "It is expected that both organizations will benefit from the MoU. We hope that new economic opportunities will be created for both countries. It is our hope that the industry players will benefit from this initiative as well".

The MoU establishes a cooperative relationship between CyberSecurity Malaysia and the Department of Post, Telecommunications, and New Technologies of Morocco in the field of cyber security. Some of the initiatives and activities to be implemented under this MoU will be cyber security projects that is supported by the Islamic Development Bank (IDB).

"I am happy to note that IDB is very receptive on this collaboration", said Dato' Seri Panglima Mohd Azumi.

The MoU cover areas of Critical Information Infrastructure Protection, cybersecurity frameworks development, capacity building, training and awareness.

CyberSecurity Malaysia is currently the Chair of OIC-CERT (Organization of Islamic Conference – Computer Emergency Response Team). The formation of OIC-CERT was accepted at the Council of Foreign Ministers of the OIC Meeting in Kampala, Uganda in June 2008 based on the proposal prepared by CyberSecurity Malaysia.



Currently, OIC-CERT members consist of 16 OIC countries.

CyberSecurity Malaysia has been actively involved in the OIC-CERT Taskforce before the agency was appointed as the Chair of the OIC-CERT. The OIC-CERT Taskforce was set up in July 2006 and amongst the pioneer members were Malaysia, Tunisia, Pakistan, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia. The taskforce is formed to spearhead a formal collaboration and cooperation of CERTs amongst the OIC member countries. Being the co-founder of the OIC-CERT, CyberSecurity Malaysia has been appointed as the Chair of the OIC-CERT Taskforce for 3 years before being appointed as the Chair of the OIC-CERT.

About CyberSecurity Malaysia

CyberSecurity Malaysia is the national cyber security specialist centre under the purview of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), Malaysia. The services include:

- Cyber999[™] Help Centre
- Malaysia's Computer Emergency Response Team (MyCERT)
- Digital Forensics / CyberCSI™
- Security Management and Best Practices
- Security Assurance
- Vulnerability Assessment Services
- Malaysia Common Criteria Certification Body (MyCB)
- Information Security Professional Development
- Outreach Programmes
- Cyber Security Policy Research

For more information about CyberSecurity Malaysia, please visit website at www.cybersecurity.my. To report cyber incidents such as harassment, fraud or intrusion to our Cyber999™ service, you may email to cyber999@cybersecurity.my

For more information, kindly contact:

Sandra Isnaji

Office: +603 8946 0867

Mohd Shamil Mohd Yusoff

Office: +603 8946 0895 Mobile: +601 2249 6938

Mobile: +601 2324 5867 E-mail: <a href="mailto:shamil<at>cybersecurity.my">shamil<at>cybersecurity.my E-mail: sandra<at>cybersecurity.my